It’s Okay To Not Know Everything

I have a confession.

For the longest time, whenever someone would reference an athlete, regardless from what sport they play or team they are on, I would nod my head and add a little my two cents on the player.

[Insert any random player from anything]

“Oh yeah, he’s definitely got some upside.”

“I love watching him play.”

“I mean, I’m not sure I’d say I’d like watching him play, but he’s definitely got talent.”

In half of those situations, probably even more, I have no idea what I’m talking about. I’ve either never once watched that player, or heard their name before.

Lets go back for a second. As a youngster, I think I knew everything there was to know about sports. The Chargers third string quarterback? Got it. The pinch-hitter for the LA Dodgers? I could tell you in an instant. Head football coach at Louisiana Tech? Come on, give me a harder one than that.

charlie.jpg

Every morning I would sit at my kitchen counter and consume as much Sportscenter as I could. During our time on the computers in elementary school, I would spend all my time on ESPN.com researching rosters, scores, stats. Basically, I had a lot of time to kill.

When you are as obsessed with sports as I was, it’s easy to know all about them. It consumed almost my every thought.

However, growing up changes that. You have less and less free time, and every step up you take in school is a sacrifice to you hobbies. The older I got, the less I could keep up with the 24/7 sports world.

Flash forward to current day, when my free time is at an all-time low. At this point in my life, I have to make a very conscious choice I what content I want to consume – and sometimes it isn’t sports. That has led to the reason for this post.

I don’t need to know everything.

It took me until college to realize this, but upon self reflection I feel like it has set me free. And while this could correlate to knowledge in general, I’m specifically talking about sports.

For example, I know people who carry on empty sports conversations just doing their best to try and sound smart on things that they have no idea about.

Player A is really good (even though I’ve never seen them play). This guy will get drafted over this guy (even though I only watched one of their games). Heck, even most sports talk TV is based around this.

When it came down to it, I prided myself on trying to keep up with everything, and it’s impossible. A big fear of mine was answering a question with, ‘I don’t know’. I always assumed that since I want to turn sports into a career, that I needed to know every minute detail.

“Hey Evan, what do you think about South Carolina’s chances against Gonzaga?”

“Honestly, I’m not too sure. I haven’t really watched either of them too much this season.”

To whoever is reading this, stop believing that you have to know everything. You don’t, and you’ll be much happier when you admit it to yourself.

Leave a Reply

